Walk on Water

I’m treading water

Whenever I think of you

And the way you walked away from me

 

It was nighttime full moon low above the skyline of the end of the world lazily, softly curling waves instead of loudly buzzing concrete haze

A gull or two black against the stars maybe upside-down like king’s herons, like cut out copies of their daytime selves

My skirt heavied by the salt and sea liking up my legs

You would turn saddened and blue to walk on water like glass like ice like the bard of the end of times you’d sing me a lullaby to ease the pain and tell me you’d always love me you’d always care and how the time had come to part ways

And I wouldn’t be fine though I’d know it’s for the best

I’d say I would go and find that alternate universe where we’d work out where you’d always stay where there’s always love and never leave and I would stay there for all time to come

You’d smile your crooked loving smile and say you’d meet me there

You’d turn and walk on water like glass like ice like the waves were yours and they’d come to take you away the last of your kind the brave and the good and the fair

And I’d walk I’d run I’d tread water to get to you

But the currents would be on your team and the salt and the sea would splash around me draw me back and drag me away

I’d fight to reach you but you’d walk on water like glass

I’d scream your name and curse the wind

You’d turn around say you’d never live through one single day not thinking of me you’d say you had to leave and you’d turn and walk on water like glass and you’d hum my song quietly breaking my heart as yours would break too

I’d fight and I’d cry and never reach your silhouette against the silver moon and never wrap my arms around you not even one last time and you’d walk and weep for the love we’d lost we were not able to hold on to and you would be brave and good and fair for all times and as you’d miss me day in day out for the rest of your life I would miss you we’d find new loves and would have learned to hold on to them and we’d remember and reminisce our time together and we’d be fine and happy in our new loves and lives

And the gulls would pass above our heads every silvery full moon high above the gently curling sea were the skyline is the surf and the air sounds like the sweetest salt and we’d be cut-out copies of our long past selves in the love we’d lost and we’d walk the water like glass like ice on our separate ways forever entwined by the end of the world.

 

But, it never happened that way. You’re not brave and good and fair. You are a coward. You couldn’t face me to say you didn’t want to stay.

4 thoughts on “Walk on Water

  1. Linda Catherine hi!
    Not sure my previous comment got through, so thanks for this thought filled work.
    I suggested a song from Wendy Matthews you may enjoy. Entitled “The Day You Went Away”it tells of an aged couple.
    Hope you are well. Cheers B

    1. Thank you B 🙂 Both messages got through and both are much appreciated! And thanks also for the song recommendation, it’s brilliant, heartbreaking and beautiful. Matthews is incredibly talented, I can’t believe i’ve never heard of her. take care 🙂 best, LC

  2. Hi! Linda Catherine.
    So pleased to see more of your work, even if it is as heartfelt as this.
    Poetry is a gift to all of us. A way of expression which cuts through the junk and bares the soul.
    You may enjoy ‘Wendy Matthews singing – “The Day You Went Away”.
    Best to you.B

Leave me a Note

