I’m a’dreaming – I’m a’planning

As per usual, I find myself in a situation where borderline delusional dreams and more concrete plans need to be made to fit into the same space. My time as a post-grad lit student comes to a close within the next few months hence it’s time for that semi-existential crisis thought of what comes after yet again. sigh.

I loved freelance writing and being the social-media and web person for my first employer and then for the studio. But the whole reason for adding the Master’s was to become more professional, more qualified and versed in the world of stories and story telling after all. A thought that now seems a bit trivialised by the – let’s face it – regression into the massively infantilised uni-environment.

That being said, I love being a student. Moving to this smallish uni town and returning to Germany once again for this degree has been a wonderful experience. I’ve met the best people, was given amazing opportunities both work and private life related and, I have to admit one of my favourite things about this time has been that I got and still get to talk to people who are as obsessed with words, stories, books, the development of books in this new age and everything about it – AND I even get credits for this. It’s almost like being payed, except for it’s really nothing like being payed.

Truly a wonderful time.

But, now that its just a bit over half a year to go before I graduate, I got the bug. The adventure bug. The working with creatives and being creative and create bug. The moving bug.

My initial and most natural idea was applying for jobs back in the US. Easy as pie. I’ve been sending out applications and am feeling rather good about it. Some got derailed to Canada. No biggie.

I’m expanding my map tho, sending cvs to the UK, and am currently working out how employable Europe might find me in general. Nice thought, getting to stay for another while.

But then the unexpected happened. A novel idea to me. Australia. A wonderful, creative, book-bursting place that has a great bonus of warmth. It might not be a place seeking for foreign creatives but I like me a challenge.

The position offered to me might turn out to pose some logistic problems, scheduling my dissertation and the required move could be impossible. That door, however only in my mind, is opened now, though, and I keep finding myself looking at Melbourne avenues and cafes, Sydney beaches and nightlife. I’m smitten by this great unknown place on the other side of our pretty little planet.

Here’s Buzzfeed’s 59 Reasons living in Sydney ruins you for Life

3 thoughts on “I’m a’dreaming – I’m a’planning

  1. Hi!Linda Catherine
    I’m not sure if my reply to your post got through so at the risk of repeating myself I wish you luck with your job seeking.
    You will love Melbourne for all of it’s culture and colour. It truly is a European city in a Down-under location. You need to have a look.
    Sydney is warmer generally and Harbour sparkles. Currently, pretty costly to live there, but that is entirely relative of course.
    Brisbane is making a name for itself as a city of culture and of young people. Great restaurants, etc.
    Adelaide, gorgeous and dry. Wine country.
    Perth and Western Australia generally is breath-taking with colour and weather.
    All-in-all a pretty nice problem to have, ie considering Aus.
    Best of luck.B

    1. Hey B 🙂 Thank you so much for your replies! I did get both of them and love the advice. I’ve honestly always vaguely dreamed of maybe one day seeing Australia, but, as you know, the distance between AU and US and EU seems quite big if you haven’t finished exploring your side of the globe just yet. But this new focus – or as you rightly called it obsession – is a whole new motivation. The dream of the beautiful weather and culture and scenery is really very enticing. despite the fear of turning this blog way “my dear diary” I’m planning on keeping the more personal posts for a bit. Updates on my delusional plans thus shall keep on coming 😉
      Best, LC

  2. Linda Catherine
    I cannot speak too highly for dear old Melbourne. Living in Melbourne CBD is like a small town with big stuff everywhere. It is such a multi-cultural city and provides the colour and variety that different clothing, food and the arts brings.
    All in all I’m saying get yourself down here and take a look!
    Good luck with job seeking. It can be exciting but can be obsessive to the point of confusion. I’m sure you will find your dream. B

Leave me a Note

