Song for the heedless

People don’t cry

over days that never were

Nobody minds

those who aren’t there

No one walks

in a nonexistent sphere

And I don’t mind

that you’re no longer here

*

Oh, I don’t mind

because we never were

No you and I

No, your heart was never here

And I don’t mind

that you’re no longer there

*

Bees don’t hum

towards flowers that aren’t there

Roosters won’t crow

sunless in the hay

The rain won’t come

without a breezy bit of air

And I don’t mind

that you’re no longer here

*

Oh, I don’t mind

over and done

And I am just alright

No place in time

for you and I

And I don’t mind

No, I do not mind

*

This clock of mine

high up on the wall

it gnaws away time

and I’m alright

*

This space in time

is all just mine

No worries I

am simply fine

Oh, I don’t mind

*

I know you’ll be fine

Oh, in your time

such a careless kind of mind

Oh, don’t you cry

not a single sigh

for the roads you never built

Oh, don’t you sigh

for the words you never quilled

Oh, don’t you sigh

for the ice that wouldn’t melt

oh, don’t sigh

for the love you never felt

Don’t feign to cry

You’ll be just fine

*

And I don’t mind

No worries for I

I no longer mind

Leave me a Note

