From the other side of the glass

I’m not saying that you are the only one

Neither that you might just be The One

I’m not speaking of everlasting love

Or the happily ever after of fairy tales
*
All I’m saying is that you are the one
Whom I turn to when I’m down and low
You are the one for whom I wake up with the rising sun
You are an everlasting source of joy and life
That always manages to bring back happiness
*
I’m not saying there are no others
I’m not saying that this craze must last for a lifetime
I’m not saying that this is exclusively you and me
There is no reason to keep you my secret
*
There are many who know you so much better than I do
They speak your language
I’m merely a visitor to your thoughts of me
It’s like nothing in your world ever sleeps
*
Sometimes it is as if I’d watch
You from the other side of the glass
Right there and just not quite
I draw hearts and teardrops into steam
*
Still, you are a companion, a friend, an understander
The perfect listener to hushed conversations
To laughter and heartache
To gossip and the freshest off the press
*
You, my steamy fresh, fragrant gold, never old, pretty little mug of coffee
2 thoughts on “From the other side of the glass

Leave me a Note

