My current book crush

It’s fall, it’s grad school, it’s book-time!!!

And yes, in case you were wondering, I am crushing. I fell hard and painfully in love. It hit me unexpectedly. In a class focused on ‘(un)making humans’ which I took as my safe-bet, my ‘I’m already so savvy and know my way around conspiracy and dystopian literature I’ll just walk through this class in a breeze’, my (admittedly arrogantly supposed) ‘easy’ balance class to lesser familiar topics. And now I am sprung. Muchly so.

This recommendation does include a confession, though. Before I tell you the title, I must say – hanging my head in shame – I had never heard of this book before.. of this entire trilogy. It completely went past me when it was published in 2004 and the entire decade since. I blame young age – it would really have been the most inappropriate read for me at the time of publication. I don’t know how I missed it. BUT, now missing needs be no more.

So, without any further ado, here it is, my current book crush

Oryx and Crake 

by Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood – Oryx and Crake

It’s dazzlingly well written, incredibly clever, dark – oh so dark – shocking, disturbing, grim, with humour more black than The Governor’s soul (may this fictional horror of a character never rest in peace), well-researched as far as Science-Fiction accuracy goes, complex and well.. I’m so *so* biased here. A less objective review never was written, but, on the upside, this is no review. It’s my love letter to Oryx and Crake, it is my recommendation for you.

Atwood takes her readers on a journey, guided by Snowman, who for some reason, seems to have lone responsibility for the children of Crake while Oryx appears to be one of the many voices of varying degrees of cruelty surrounding him.

Pick up a copy some time or get the audio book read by Campbell Scott and let me know what you think about it.

P.S.: I have yet to read the following two novels of the MaddAddam trilogy. And I can’t wait.

The Year of the Flood

Margaret Atwood – The Year of the Flood

Margaret Atwood – The Year of the Flood

MaddAddam

Margaret Atwood – MaddAddam

Margaret Atwood – MaddAddam

One thought on “My current book crush

Leave me a Note

