The Tale of the Ice Princess and Her Time at the Sea Side

I am the departed

I am the half-living

I am but the spitting image 

Of one that roamed the coast yesterday

*

As Time trickles on

As breaths run in – out

As the beats beat blood

Seeping hot red through blue lines beneath skin

*

Life continues, it always will find a way

For as leaves sprout, stretch their thin arms, grow

Wings, translucent emerald,

They turn, yellow, red, brown, dropping, Dead

*

Life will be reborn of ice

Rays nursing it

The source of life set in the centre of it all

Gives, protects, fosters, Burns

*

The blazing nucleus

To our azure marble.

With legendary benevolence,

Only ask Ikarus.

*

No matter how long the winter

We trust that life will be rekindled – eventually

The lethargic state of things reanimated

The frozen air, broken

*

It’s crisp, still

Cold and silent

Lack of interest

No reason to move

*

I won’t say what you wait to hear

It is not you that brought the ice

Nor your leaving, trust when I say

That it was I – All by Myself

*

I brought the snow back

The tiny glass crystals

It was I who etherized the air

I was mistaken

*

I made a deliberate choice

Defeated, stunned my screaming instincts

I changed My rules

Because I wanted what never was for me

*

Just for a moment in time

I wanted to feel the surf crush freely

I am but a self-fulfilling prophecy

Was thrown, twisted, drowned

*

So I brought back the ice 

Solidity cannot drown me

Solitude cannot cage me

Ice cannot be burned

*

Ice brings serenity

Everything that I am

Everything around me

Is devoid of warmth

4 thoughts on “The Tale of the Ice Princess and Her Time at the Sea Side

  1. It is raining here today and after reading this poem I really need to curl up and fill my head with wonderment. Poetry takes me to a space I find hard to describe. It is like a physical connection that is as important as an arm or leg. Thank you for the work. B

    1. I think rainy days are exceptional, there never is a thought as clear as one born on a grey and meditatively sombre day. Poetry is a very special medium to channel emotions. And challenge them as well.

Leave me a Note

