liebster-award

 

 

Words of utmost appreciation go out to the wonderful and brilliant Reinvention of Mama for my *first ever* award nomination on WordPress.

The way I understand how this works (please correct me if I am mistaken) is that, if you accept the nomination, you compose a post including:

  • a list of your 10 nominees
  • A’s to my Q’s
  • 10 fresh Q’s for your nominees

And then inform your nominees via comment on their blog including a link to your post.

Here are my champions (they are not, however, in any particular order):

1. Art Attack 

2. RaRaSaur

3. The Untitled

4. Reinvention of Mama

(not sure if it works that way, but I love your blog)

5. Princessdeloso

6. The Sock Zombie Diaries 

7. Bristlehound

8. Real Talented

9. RamisaR

10. Darling and Sir

Now, moving on to Mama’s questions for her nominees:

1. Do you write full-time?  If so, how did you decide to take the leap of faith and go for it?  If not, what would it take to make you confident enough to take that leap?

I basically am writing full-time at the moment, it’s a little complicated though. Since my studies reached a fun little hiatus between Bachelor and Master degree (come again now, who said Masters can only start in the fall? I call poppycock) I am working as a freelance writer (gotta eat, right?) and am working on a (how did you put it, mama) wannabe-novel in between assignments.

2. What’s your favourite type of writing?  Blogging? Novels?

I love blogging and all the perks that come with it.  The writing challenges that remind me of creative writing classes for all the new styles and different assignments they provide (especially the Gonzo style presented me with a whole new writing voice) and the peer connectability. My work is also fun most of the time, frustrating other times. But I’d say that my favourite are novels.

3. What’s your all-time favorite book?

Sooo tough, I have many books that I adore and reread whenever I get the chance. Everyone for their own reasons. I think it’s like asking a mother to pick a favourite among her offspring. May I propose a compromise? I will name the one of my all time favourites that I reread most recently: Frances Hodgson Burnett’s The Secret Garden.

4. What music do you listen to while writing?

Depends on what I’m writing, I like to accommodate my themes at times, challenge by contrast other times. Currently, I have acoustic piano tunes playing on the spotify radio station based on Yann Tiersen.

5.  Do you use material from your personal life in your writing?

Fictionalized accounts, sometimes. I like being inspired by people I meet, things I see, places I visit. But I don’t use diary entries word by word.

6. Do you worry about judgement from those in your private circle about what you write?

Worry per se – not so much, think about it now and again – yes. I think every writer has that nagging self-conscious doubt with them that is most comfortably projected on friends, family etc. But, generally, people in the real-world that I care about have always known me with this part of me and accept me for who I am.

7. Will you/do you use your own name on what you publish?

basically – yes.

8. What time of the day do you like to write the most?

It depends, I love the early morning coffee stained hours just as much as late nights drenched in wine and bourbon. The afternoon is my weakest time, I’d say, my attention span is diminished by all these possibilities and – wait – was that a butterfly? I need some chocolate. Do you wanna go hiking/running/shopping/swimming/waterskiing/on a hot-air balloon trip/out for coffee, like. . .  right now?!

9. Do you wake up from sleep with ideas?  I do – it’s weird.

a *lot* actually. Most of my published and unpublished poetry was born at night, I’m a bit of an insomniac to begin with.

10. What’s your writing goal?

World peace. But seriously, I think my goal is to do what I love for as long as I love it. Improve myself – meaning my craft, life, and personality – through it and to connect with others via this medium.  I am fascinated by how words can reach out to others, across borders, oceans and cultures, wrapping thoughts, emotions, and dreams into something comprehensible. By how one sentence never evokes the exact same reaction twice.

My Champion Q’s

1. What triggered the decision to publish your work in blog format?

2. How did you first encounter your type of art?

3. What was the last book you read?

4. Describe the piece of art that touched you most recently?

5. Mountains or the Sea Side?

6. To which degree is your art real-life inspired?

7. Would you like to turn your art that you publish on your blog into a professional career? In case you already did, what gave you the confidence to do so? (slightly paraphrased Mama’s Q No. 1 here)

8. Do your friends and family support your art or approve of it?

9. Do you use your native language on your blog?

10. If there was one thing you could tell your peers to inspire them, what would that be?

One thought on “Liebster Award

  1. Fantastic answers! Though I don’t get a ton of sleep, I’m a sound sleeper and never wake up with weird ideas. Bath time is idea time for me. 🙂 Congrats on your award, and thank you so much for thinking of me! 🙂 I’m going to check out your other nominees now… 🙂

Leave me a Note

